National Poetry Month – Week Three

IMG_0513

April 15

The whiteness mocks me in my despair.
From whence does the time flow?
I sit, alone, in my hard wooden chair,
Wondering, am I on a plateau?
Trying to cudgel out some more prose,
But I’m no Henry David Thoreau!
I need help before I can compose.
Maybe I’ll settle for a glass of Merlot.
 

April 16

There once was a party so delightful
The guest list was something quite frightful.
But there was dancing on tables
And damage to sables
That at the end I had grown quite spiteful!
 

April 17 – Dedicated to my Twitterbeans on both coasts.

I sneeze and sneeze
And cough and wheeze
Oh won’t somebody please,
Develop a spring breeze
That won’t bring me to my knees!

April 18

White and brown
World renown
A curl of smoke
A happy sniff
I love my Green Mermaid
It’s Starbucks time!!

April 19 – haiku

A lift of the lips
Has the meaning of the world,
When one is in love.

April 20 – a standard sonnet in salute of books (although I do love my Kindle!)

I found true love, solid and sure.
I raced the clock and found the cure.
I’ve talked to rabbits and mice and moose.
I’ve seen evil win. I’ve seen good lose.
I drove a Beemer; I rode a bike.
I know what men and women like.
I’ve learned about weight loss.
I’ve seen pictures of Macross.
I close my eyes and hear the cadence.
I see the sun in all its radiance.
 
Aloft I have held that magic sword,
All within the written word.

April 21 – The day before Earth Day

The sun and other stars
Stoke their fiery furnaces
And without thought, create the stuff of life.
 
We burn dinosaurs
And trees, and each other,
And without thought, wield destruction.
 
Which is the more glorious creation?
 
About Shukmeister

I have a great fondness for chocolate chip cookie dough, 80's science fiction movies, and thunderstorms.

Posted on April 24, 2013, in Poetry and Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on Hanguk Babble and commented:
    Shukie writes poetry. 4/19 beautiful haiku. 4/21 WOW! Love it. So sharing with my environmentalist friends.

    • Jreidy17 – I’m glad you liked the poetry! Truth to tell, I hardly look at the previous year’s stuff, so it’s nice to know that it still makes a positive impact!

  2. Hi Shukmeister, I found your blog in a roundabout way through dramabeans and love it along with your squeecaps. I am setting up a WordPress blog slowly but surely – if you’d like, check out my art contributions for Inspiring Generation (really it’s only the man beauty Mo Il-hwa) and Witch’s Romance drawings in keeping with my love of kdramas. I’m owl on dramabeans, and Cimi (cimiart) on WordPress. Fighting!

    • Cimi – The finger lick!! Awesome! And, of course, I’m happy to see you under a different banner, especially since my work now makes it hard to show up on DBOT. Kamsahamnida!

Leave a Reply

