April 2014 – National Poetry Month

Every year, I’m challenged by my Twitterbean chingus to participate every April, where I write a poem a day for the entire month.

Dismal Swamp Fire Sep 2011

WEEK ONE

April 1: Haiku

Worst Police Fool’s Day?
Stuff those lovely Krispy Kremes
With some mayonnaise.
 

April 2:  Free verse

The tiny pink buds
Tentatively open to the warming rays
Does this mean winter is over?
 

April 3: Sonnet

I stare at the computer screen
Blankness mocks with pixels of white.
Am I only able to vent my spleen,
And churn it out as so much shite?
Perhaps I just need a shot of caffeine
So the bottled words will ignite
Or maybe some high-priced cuisine
To bring that imagination to light.
Ahhh! [headdesk]
 

April 4: Limerick

There once was a lady so fine
Elegant like a slim glass of wine.
She was dating a tailor
Who swore like a sailor
So her words took on a bit of a brine.
 

 April 5: Free Verse

Whenever I’m at Starbucks,
I hear, “Grande macchiato, no whip, no foam”
Or “Vente three-pump vanilla latte”
And I wonder if that person can possibly enjoy
Theirs more than I enjoy my tall Chai hot.
 

April 6: Free Verse

From Absinthe and Apple
To Celadon and Citron
From Mantis and Mint
And Avocado and Olive
I just want a Green Spring!
 

April 7: Haiku

In spite of the cold
I stand with waves lapping toes
And watch the sunrise.
 
 

 Note on photo:  This is a picture of a fire in the Great Dismal Swamp, reflected in the calm waters of Lake Drummond. 

 

 
About Shukmeister

I have a great fondness for chocolate chip cookie dough, 80's science fiction movies, and thunderstorms.

Posted on April 10, 2014, in Poetry and Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Kudos, Shukie!!! *bows deeply* This is cool stuff! But, a poem a day for an entire MONTH?? Wow. That’s a tall order! I salute you for taking on the challenge!

    • Blame CMRPrindle, who does it almost effortlessly every year! Last year included odes to pollen and coffee! We will have to see how this year turns out. The old ones are archived under “Poetry and Thoughts” tab.

      Thanks,

      Shuk

Leave a Reply

